Wednesday, 28th August 2013

by Joshua Gaskell

Walking up the Fulham Palace Road I notice a Hammersmith and Fulham council slogan on the sign of Charing Cross hospital: ‘Community matters.’ It certainly does. But I can’t help thinking of their other slogan, the one emblazoned on the signs at the boundary with Hounslow: ‘Welcome to Hammersmith & Fulham, the low tax borough.’ I wonder why they didn’t think that one would be appropriate for this first-class, publicly funded ’spital.

I see a sticker saying ‘Why’d you only call me when you’re high?’ which I take to mean ‘Why would you only call me when you’re high?’ An oddly specific subjunctive, but the only one that makes sense given the position of the apostrophe. Unless they meant ‘Why d’you only call me when you’re high?’

On the way home I see a sign of the times: a gentleman with a free bus pass… and a computer magazine.

