Sunday, 15th September 2013

by Joshua Gaskell

I wish I had the kind of job where being a workaholic is a viable possibility. I’m not saying I wish I were a workaholic, only that I wish my job had the potential to provoke that amount of fervour. Who ever heard of a workaholic with a crap job? A person with a crap job can have their work cut out, be worked to the bone, work-hardened and work-weary, but never a workaholic. Moreover, I can pursue my writing with an addict’s tenacity, ‘voluntarily [working] excessively hard and unusually long hours’ (OED), but, without the exchange of capital, I don’t think it counts as workaholism. I wish I was a workaholic author.

David Laws tells the Lib Dem conference that, to combat high prices for school-uniform, ‘Parents need to be able to shop around to find the best deal’, thus introducing the potential for ranks of clothing indicative of parents’ wealth, precisely what school uniform exists to prevent. As usual they are turning to free-marketeering in an attempt to solve a problem which a free market created.

